top of page

Why We Don't Celebrate Christmas

K: I'm personally on a journey of getting back to the laws, traditions, and customs of my ancestors and our ways of living that we lost to this western bullshit. Christmas is definitely not a practice that is custom to us and I believe that it serves as a huge distraction. While we are here tangled in a web of lies about "Christ is the reason for the season" and "Santa Claus is bringing you gifts", after all is said and BOUGHT, we are still left in the same state as before. A little more broke, a little less mindful, and a lot more disconnected from who we were. The same Bible that folks LOVE referencing to on this "holy holiday" even states that we should not follow "foreign" traditions! I just pray that we all just continue to do our research and always seek the right answers.

R: I like to research. When I researched what the origins of this day was, I found some stuff that didn't align with how I practice my faith. I was suffering some real cognitive dissonance, and although it wasn't easy, I chose to stop celebrating this day. Through all of the things I have found in the Bible and the articles I have looked up about the original reason we celebrate this day, it discouraged me to continue to celebrate it. I do not consider myself a Christian or Catholic and there is nowhere mentioned in the Bible that Jesus was born on December 25th of year zero, humans made that up and I choose not to worship God on a man made day.


Scripture:

"1 Hear ye the word which the Lord speaketh unto you, O house of Israel: 2 Thus saith the Lord, Learn not the way of the heathen, and be not dismayed at the signs of heaven; for the heathen are dismayed at them. 3 For the customs of the people are vain: for one cutteth a tree out of the forest, the work of the hands of the workman, with the axe. 4 They deck it with silver and with gold; they fasten it with nails and with hammers, that it move not. 5 They are upright as the palm tree, but speak not: they must needs be borne, because they cannot go. Be not afraid of them; for they cannot do evil, neither also is it in them to do good."

-Jeremiah 10:1-5


bottom of page