top of page

Artist of the Month: Bliss


NAME:

Bliss 

ORIGIN:

Mississauga 

BACKGROUND:

I was never good at expressing my thoughts and feelings verbally. Throughout my childhood if I would get in trouble, I would always write my mom apology letters or letters expressing my feelings towards our recent disagreement. It felt more clear, and flowed naturally “ as if from my soul to the paper the ink seeped” as I always say. I slowly started writing story’s, songs, and raps that in high school turned into poems. I’ve always been inspired by the essence and powerful spirit of my people, while throughout history they have been placed in the worst conditions imaginable, yet here we still are ! Like many poets before me we just want to remind them and ourselves of the truth that they have been trying to make us forget. Even though I’ve always been shy and despised public speaking, my sister once told me 

“the message is bigger than you and your fears” - KBM

The Most High knew that, that was exactly what I needed to hear, and each time I get ready to perform and feel those feelings of fear I remember those words that “ the message is bigger” than all of that. That it’s bigger than me, I am simply a vessel being used to deliver His message unto His people in a unique way. My poems are not for everyone, they are only for the lost ones, who have been chosen. 

INFLUENCES:

I am influenced by the word of The Most High and His message to His people.  With each piece I write I hope to spark a light in someone’s spirit to

seek Him out, and remember our true identity, heritage and culture that has been stripped away from us so long ago. Some artists whose work challenges me to continue to push and spread this message are Maya Angelou, Tupac Shakur, Ms. Lauryn Hill, and Shamai Judah. These artist spoke about the struggle and spirit of our people, the raw, uncut, beauty of it all, an alarm to wake us out of the deep sleep we are in. I continue to build on my craft to do just the same.

FUTURE:

To be honest I don’t think much about it , I’m very free flowing when it comes to this poetry stuff, I try to allow The Most High to lead me in whatever direction He’ll have me go. I’d love to do more collaborations with like minded and spirited poets and artist, travel and perform. Lord Willing a book of a collection of my poems will come out of it, that will tell the story of this journey I’m on. 

Here are some spoken word pieces for you to enjoy: 

Message to my Brothas; Protect your Crown::

He stepped in front of the mirror and began to shine and polish his crown

Then he covered it 

He thought of how he rarely watched himself do it because he could do it with his eyes closed

Today was different 

He knew when he put that durag on & 

passed through the threshold, 

all eyes would be on

Him, 

Mostly from those outside his kin

But he still expected to get some side eye 

From those with skin like his 

He couldn’t help but think 

How it is expected of him to be careless with his crown 

A slight smile took place of his frown 

When he thought of the words of a princess he met 

“Remember where you fall in the elect, 

They are astonished because of whose image you reflect, My king don’t be ashamed, That Yah-like,pure wool that grows out your head 

You have all right to protect! “

~ Bliss

Glowing & Growing::

Even when it's raining 

We Glow

Even through the 

Pain,

Shame,

Backs slain,

Buried in the streets,

Through the cracks of the cold concrete 

We Grow. 

~ Bliss

We nature::

To my family 

I know they have picked off our petals

Broke our brown branches

And burned up our Forrest’s 

But within us planted is the seed of Truth

& we will no longer be made fools, 

In the new year we will bloom

And rejoice under the New Moon. 

~ Bliss


bottom of page