top of page

Artist of the Month: Ebony Makeda


NAME:

Ebony Makeda

(Click the link to follow and send a message and get your makeup did!)

ORIGIN:

"Born downtown Toronto, Canada. Raised in a Jamaican household based in Brampton. My parents would always encourage me to be more creative and would tell me to learn new things. Even my mom always told me from a young age that I was the artist of the family."

BACKGROUND:

"Since I was in my early teens I knew I always wanted to have a career based in the artistry world! Years later during my late teens; I started to go on social media and discovered a “new” type of art that I never really considered doing but ended up loving it! - Makeup!"

INFLUENCES:

My favourite influencers and makeup artists that I always go to on Instagram for inspiration are:

FUTURE:

"For my future in the makeup industry I desire to be a celebrity makeup artist or possibly makeup educator and hope to inspire many up coming artists!"

Kim's Responses= BLUE

Racquel's Responses = RED

Look #1

I love, love, love this look! Not only is Ebony just stunning...this look is hella clean! From those eyebrows serving us real hairs hunny, to the shimmer halo lids shining through serving me life. On top of all that... those lips and that gloss combo that this chick got going on...like stop. If I was to name this look I’d call it ‘Ebony & Glitz’!

I don't know how she does it! Literally took a simple smoky eye and turn it up all the way! Got the halo effect going on AND a cut crease...lawd simply stunning. And those lipppssssss I don't even know where or how you found that colour but I definitely need it on my lips...both sets of lips LOL that's how much I love it.

Look #2

Can we just take a moment to just acknowledge how fricken insane this is! As a fellow self proclaimed MUA and someone who is in the industry of beauty and fashion, I KNOW how basic this industry can be. For Ebony to push the limits with such a daring, edgy, and clearly complicated look...is nothing short of inspiring. Shit, she makes me want to go home and beat my face right now! I would name this look ‘Check Mate B**ch’.

Where and how the fuck did you see something checkered like this and thought "hmm let me make this an eye look". The time this must have taken and the clean lines really showcases the artistry. Not only can you cut creases but you can also cut squares! I can barely draw anything to save my life and I look at people into art with such amazement because look at this!!!!

Look #3

Here she goes again. Ms. Ebony hitting us with a look that could just slice through a man with no pain because it’s just that beautiful. I don’t think you guys are even understanding the levels to this look right now...my girl has a cut crease, gold liner, graphic liner, wispy wispy lashes, lawwwdd the list goes on. Clearly Ebony knows that yellow is a melanin friendly colour because GURL this look should be called ‘All That Magic’!

Can we all just take a moment of silence for how slayed her brows always are? I'm a sucker for a good bushy-yet-tamed brow. If you follow her on instagram you are in for a treat because you never know what you are going to get! I remember I came across this look while I was scrolling and was shooketh. Look at all those clean lines! And that nice pop of gold glitter above the cut crease is genius. I could go on forever about this look!

And if you haven't had enough, check out her looks on some clients of hers:


bottom of page