top of page

All Shades of Beautiful

Working in the beauty industry I come across a million women from all from different walks of life and all at different stages on their beauty journey.

"Can I get the latest highlighter", or "I saw this girl on YouTube...", and "I'm trying to get skin like yours!" are just a few of the statements I hear on a regular. With an increase of self taught make up artist on the rise, it's easy to see why every little girl and their mama are trying to get their hands on the latest products.

Now, what happens to the little girl with darker skin that comes in for her first foundation match and there is no brand carrying her shade? Well for starters, this little girl's perception of beauty is now going to be totally distorted! All she is going to associate with beauty is lighter skin which fits perfectly with society's agenda to make darker skin women feel inferior. In addition, this little girl will not have the same opportunity, as other little girls, to fall in love with makeup and explore her creativity which can in return, discourage her from even venturing into the makeup world! Like how sad is that? Don't get me wrong, there are brands that have finally broken the barriers of society's beauty standards by releasing a wide range of shades and tones. Fenty Beauty, CoverFX, Bare Minerals, Nars...just to name a few. The question has never been "can they do it?" more like "why aren't they doing it?" The buying power of the "Black" community alone is enough to power a whole entire village! We prove this time and time again (look at 'Black Panther' numbers). So all that is left to assume, is that THESE BRANDS DON'T CARE ABOUT COLOURED LIVES. Straight disrespect. Says a lot when not even our money can buy respect from these brands.

It always bedazzles me how backwards "the system" has us operating. I can't tell you the amount of times I've colour matched a lighter skinned client PERFECTLY and they look at me crazy telling me that it's way too light. Or when I've found the PERFECT beautiful, rich, ebony shade for a darker skinned woman and have gotten the reaction that I've set her up for failure because she thinks the shade is too dark. I've even witnessed a client rejoice that she wasn't the darkest shade...talk about crazy. Nowadays women are fighting for what another woman has or how they look, and not taking a moment to realize that all we need, all that is beautiful, we already possess.

For me, makeup is more than just covering up my blemishes and achieving that trendy glow. It's an artistic outlet where I am able to freely express my mood and emotions through various shimmers, mattes, glosses, and shades. Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, and if you are not beholding your own beauty then do not expect these brands, other women, and especially society to view you as the Queen you are! Your shade is beautiful, don't ever forget <3


bottom of page