top of page

Random Thoughts on Dating & Relationships

Kim’s View on Dating.

Dating. It feels like such a foreign word tbh lol. But then again what is dating? Is it

being with that person for a certain number of months? Does it begin once titles have been established?

Is it the act of going on dates? So many questions, and I feel like I have zero answers.

I personally have never had a boyfriend lol so I’ve basically been living single for 22 years, but then again I feel like I haven’t...because I don’t know if I’ve been really living that "single" lyfe. Although, I’ve had my encounters with the opposite sex, where I’ve expressed myself in ways too big for words lol, those have never really led to me telling people that I’m officially “dating” anyone. In retrospect, I guess I can call them relationships. Successful relationships? Uggh, let’s say needed...I guess lol *rolls eyes* but no seriously, they’ve definitely showed me aspects of this dating world that I do not care for. Thinking about it now, I feel like I’m forever in the preliminary stage of dating...but I’m not really mad at it. I can say that it fluctuates daily between wanting to

be dating and just staying a single bad ass bitch lol, so proceed with caution. P.s. Fellas

bring the ladies out more, even if it’s for a walk. Ladies, be worth the dinner <3

Racquel ’s View on Dating.

First off, I'm high asf writing this piece. Just so mans know that I'm tripping out and

writing whatever comes to my mind for this piece.

I've been in a few relationships in the past, some short, some long-

but-actually-kind-of-short ones, but nothing more than 1 year and a bit.

Some might say that's a long time, others say it's short. But I feel like I've

gained enough experience up until this point in my life tbh. But I feel like dating

in this generation is different. Just want to clarify, I don't mean all guys...just

some of the ones I've come into contact with. With all the technology and music

that we’ve been listening to, I can physically feel the disrespect off of some people

when I turn them down in the club and they get mad. Too many mans are listening

to “fuck hoes and side tings” in the lyrics that they've internalized it. Yesterday at

the club, some man tried to pick me up grabbed my arm yelling “Yo, mon a gallis

wah gwan?” ...I'm sorry what does that even mean?!!! What is my response to that?

Please don't grab my arm in the club and think it's an acceptable way to get my

attention. But it's all good because for the past little while, my mindset has been

just to focus on school and get my career up before I start even considering dating

at this point. So for now, I'm taking the stance of asexual asf so don't get offended

if the rejection is immediate...I can't fuck with another person's life right now while

I'm still trying to figure out mine.

So What Have We Learned So Far?

1. Do you boo. Get to know yourself first and establish a strong sense of self. How do you know what you deserve and what to expect from a positive relationship if you haven't assessed the qualities needed from you to put into the relationship.

2. Opposites don't attract. Rather, find someone who compliments your personality, mindset, values, etc. Basically, someone on the same wavelength as you.

3. Don't forget about friendship. You should be best friends with whoever you are with. The same feeling your friends give you should be the feeling that your partner gives you.

4. Supportive circle. Relationships can get rough. Having a great circle of friends can help de-stress you. Yes, even you fellas too. Don't feel too prideful that you can't express your feelings to your true homies.

5. It's a marathon not a race. Just remember that life is a journey, and we change so much as people as the time goes. Don't rush it. What is meant for you will always be there.

bottom of page